Broccoli Cheddar Soup

broccoli-cheddar-titling

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Winter is coming to an end (sort of) and I’m trying to cram in as many soup nights as I can before the weather starts warming up again. Soups are so satisfying, filling and cozy. Not to mention they can be so easy. Easy to make ahead of time, easy to freeze and easy to eat.

dscn0480

This recipe belongs to my mom, which I believe she has inherited over the years, and was something we grew up eating throughout the cold months. I’ve really begun to enjoy recreating the recipes that I ate as a child. I find so much comfort in reading these recipes and making them for my husband…and you all of course.

dscn0481

I made a giant batch this Sunday evening, froze 1/2 and will send the other 1/2 off with my husband for lunch this week. I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do and soak in the last few weeks of winter temps (or count them down until warmer temps).

dscn0486


Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 bags frozen chopped broccoli
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 cans cream of mushroom soup
  • 3 cans milk (I recommend using whole)
  • 2 tubes Velveeta cheese, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 tablespoons pickled jalapenos, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Directions

  1. Saute minced onion in butter until translucent and cooked through. Add cans of soup, milk, garlic, jalapeno and cubes of Velveeta cheese, stirring continuously to prevent scorching on bottom of the pan.
  2. Meanwhile, steam frozen broccoli until crisp, about 6 minutes.
  3. Once cheese has completely melted add steamed broccoli. Let simmer for 30 minutes stirring periodically to prevent scorching on bottom of the pan.
  4. Serve with toasted bread or saltine crackers.

 

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Leave a Reply

