Our At Home Valentine’s Dinner

unnamed-8

Our At Home Valentine’s Dinner

We ate, we drank, we celebrated each other and it was so much better than going out and dealing with crowds!!

If you read last week’s post you’ll know that Mr. and I opted to stay at home this year for Valentine’s Day. I went grocery shopping Monday evening and stocked up on our feast. I’ve been brainstorming our menu for past month, planning items that we don’t have on a regular basis (i.e. mostly the cheesecake) so that regardless of location we were indulging.

Here was our menu:

Appetizer: toasted baguette with olive oil and balsamic dipping sauce (I added a few garlic cloves, red pepper flakes, fresh chopped parsley, dried thyme and salt and pepper).

Mains: reverse seared rib eye and my Memaw’s barbecued shrimp

Sides: creamy truffled spinach and Julia Child’s mashed potatoes 

Dessert: homemade vanilla bean cheesecake and some impromptu chocolate covered strawberries

unnamed-2

unnamed-5

I was adventurous in the sense that this was my first time making a lot of these items but would recommend all of the recipes I linked to above. It was my first time ever making a cheesecake let alone even using a vanilla bean but give me a glass of wine, relaxing music and I feel like I can accomplish just about anything in the kitchen.

unnamed-3

And calling my fellow pinot noir lovers out there I highly recommend the Castle Rock Pinot Noir California Cuvee. It was the perfect accompaniment for our rich meal and for a $10 price tag it did just the trick.

How did you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

Our At Home Valentine’s Dinner

Leave a Reply

