My First Dinner Party

Title SquareMy First Dinner Party

As I’ve developed my cooking and baking skills I’ve also come to love making and sharing with others. Baked goods, gift baskets, small mementos, I find so much joy in providing others a small token of appreciation for their friendship and their role in my life.

DSCN0548

Going into home ownership I couldn’t wait to host friends and family for holidays and meals. There was a reason we registered for a full set of wine glasses and numerous serving platters. Getting folks together around a table with great food, a beautiful tablescape and a few bottles of wine is pure bliss in my book.

DSCN0526

Shamrocks from Trader Joe’s.

DSCN0525

DSCN0520

With today being St. Patrick’s Day I found it only appropriate to dress the table in green and keep things festive and fresh. I found this tablecloth on Ebay (a total score and will certainly be used again as we head into the summer months) and made the easiest centerpiece to date. A few kale leaves, Italian parsley, Russet potatoes and a head of cabbage, simple and rustic!

I provided the main course of Shepherd’s Pie and used this recipe. Nothing overly complicated and was easy in the sense that I was able to assemble the casserole before everyone arrived, popped it in the oven and it was ready in about 30 minutes. By keeping the main dish simple I am able to host and participate in conversation rather than standing over a hot stove while everyone gets to enjoy each other’s company.

I am yearning now for patio furniture so we can take entertaining outdoors when Spring is here to stay. I’m curating this home one dinner table at a time!

My First Dinner Party

3 thoughts on “My First Dinner Party

  1. Kelly - Talk of the House says:

    Looks delicious! And I am totally jealous of that green buffalo check tablecloth you scored on Ebay! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

